Public vs private employment

Issues related to pay, contracts, Agenda for Change, the NHS, the BPS, unions, etc.

Public vs private employment

Postby persephone56 » Sun Apr 23, 2017 7:32 pm

I just wanted to open up a discussion about working in the public service as a psychologist (i.e. NHS or similar) versus private work. I have spoken to a few clinical psychologists who have seemed pretty vehemently against working in private practice, but it wasn't appropriately to explore too deeply at the time.

I'm wondering what the opinions of folk here are? Are you an NHS for life psychologist? What are your views of private practice?

I'm only a first year trainee, so I have no experience of private work, but I certainly like the idea of being my own boss. I spent two years in British Columbia, working in the equivalent of the NHS. Nearly all psychologists that I worked with worked part time in the public service (for the benefits and stability, mostly) and a day or two a week in private practice (for the money). That seems to be less common over here though?
persephone56

Re: Public vs private employment

Postby miriam » Sun Apr 23, 2017 11:36 pm

I was an "NHS for life" psychologist until the NHS stopped being a single public sector organisation and started being a lot of separate Trusts run like businesses dependent on contracts, many of which have been awarded to private sector organisations.