AP Supervision

Issues related to pay, contracts, Agenda for Change, the NHS, the BPS, unions, etc.

AP Supervision

Postby marshmallow2 » Thu Jun 01, 2017 12:43 pm

Hi All,

I apologise in advance if there is already a topic for what I am seeking advice for.

I am an assistant psychologist (AP) working for a private organisation. I work full time with a team of three other full time APs and a part time clinical psychologist (two days per week). I am just looking for some general advice on supervision and responsibility.

We are supervised 1:1 for one hour once a month (at the very most). We have a team meeting every week for one hour. Our general feeling is that this is insufficient - especially as we each have a caseload of 30 young people for whom we carry out therapeutic intervention, assessments, report writing, attending important meetings, and reviews. All of this work is completed independently by each of us. Understandably our supervisor is very busy and can only commit to two days at our work place a week. We are open about our concerns regarding supervision and personal development. We regularly review what documentation is available (BPS, HCPC, etc) to guide our learning and practice.

Due to funding restrictions, there is very little CPD or agreement to attend CPD events (even if we have paid for them ourselves). However we do pursue CPD in our own time which is very helpful to us.

I just wondered if there are any other APs who have had a similar experience? If it's possible to source external supervision (as our current supervisor is split across three roles and therefore once a month is the maximum that can be accommodated)? Is there anything we can do as APs to ensure we are developing in the right areas? We refer to the core competencies and have designed our own supervision templates based on these.