WAIS III vs WAIS IV

This section is for questions relating to therapy, assessment, formulation and other aspects of working with people in mental health services.

WAIS III vs WAIS IV

Postby nearlythere » Thu May 24, 2012 9:20 pm

Hi all,

I'm a recently qualified clinical psychologist who has been lurking on the site for a while now! I've been thinking about a dilemma (I think) of sorts that I would be interested in obtaining other's views on.

The service I work in (CMHT) uses the WAIS III rather than the WAIS IV and recently a colleague referred someone to the LD team on the basis of an assessment. I've begun to wonder how valid the 'older' version of the WAIS is and wondered if I could some of your views on this? I don't want to raise it as an issue if it's perhaps me being too precious over it. My colleague who was aiming to be (and always is) very helpful reports that apparently the WAIS III is used a lot in private practice as people don't want to buy a new upgrade!

I'd appreciate your thoughts on this and any direction on guidance out there
nearlythere

Want to advertise with us? You or your business could fill this space. Email clinpsyforum@gmail.com for information.

Re: WAIS III vs Vs, WAIS IV

Postby Borrowed Cone » Thu May 24, 2012 9:38 pm

nearlythere wrote:Hi all,

I'm a recently qualified clinical psychologist who has been lurking on the site for a while now! I've been thinking about a dilemma (I think) of sorts that I would be interested in obtaining other's views on.