Can I enter a DClinPsy course if I have been sectioned?

Your chance to ask for advice on any aspect of career development that doesn't fit in any of the above categories

Can I enter a DClinPsy course if I have been sectioned?

Postby witcher2424 » Sun Mar 05, 2017 4:01 pm

Hi,
I am a second year psych student hoping to eventually qualify as a Clinical Psychologist. Is this possible if I have previously been sectioned? I was under section for approximately 1.5 years. However, this was 6 and a half years ago and I am now about as happy and healthy as most 2nd year students!
Would the section(s) affect future applications?
I am happy to give more detail if necessary.
Thanks in advance! :alien:
witcher2424

Re: Can I enter a DClinPsy course if I have been sectioned?

Postby Geishawife » Sun Mar 05, 2017 8:50 pm

Having been sectioned in the past certainly does not debar you from doing the clinical course. There are numerous examples of people with a history of mental health difficulties working very successfully as CPs (Rufus May being an obvious example). All I would say is be aware of what your needs, vulnerabilities and strengths are so that you are able to recognise when your mental health needs might be affecting your ability to work. This, of course, is true of any of us, whether we have a documented mental health issue or not.

In some respects, your personal experiences could give you a unique perspective on things that could ADD to your effectiveness as a clinician. So long as you are mindful of recognising when (if!) your practice is being affected and you might need support your previous history does not have to be a hurdle.

Good luck with your journey.
Geishawife
Team Member

Postby Randomswirls » Thu Mar 09, 2017 6:50 pm

Hello

Whilst I have never been sectioned I have had several admissions to hospital with the most recent being far more recent than yours.