Course Interviews - what to wear?

Discuss the content and style of the different clinical psychology doctoral training courses, the differences between them, placements, teaching, chat to other trainees and connect with other people who have places on the same course

Course Interviews - what to wear?

Postby Dee » Mon Mar 17, 2008 6:25 pm

I've got my first interview for the DClin Psy so I'm new to all this. I normally wear a skirt, shirt and suit jacket and small heels to interviews. Do you think this is ok? Recently I've been wondering if my dress is too formal! As a lot of other interviewees seem to look more casual e.g. trousers, no jacket and dress codes seem to be getting less and less formal for most jobs too. I know it's a bit of a silly question but hey ho...I'm starting to over-worry like everyone else on these forums!
Dee

Postby katyboo » Mon Mar 17, 2008 6:30 pm

i wore a full on trouser suit for mine and thought is was appropriate as i thouhgt it showed i was taking the interview seriously, that i had respect for them, i was professional and it made me feel good about myself. BUT you can do all those things with your attitude and not just with clothes!! justt go as you feel is right!
katyboo

Postby Elsie » Mon Mar 17, 2008 6:47 pm

Hi Dee

Well done on getting an interview!

You may find this post useful - where people have discussed what they would/should wear to interviews.

Hope that helps,

Elsie
People will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel
-~-Maya Angelou-~-
Elsie

Postby Bella » Mon Mar 17, 2008 7:10 pm

Im not wearing a suit - I don't feel comfortable in one and being all suited and booted reminds me of the bank manager!!

I am wearing suit trousers though and a nice top - smart but approachable is what im going for! :D
Bella

Postby steve79 » Mon Mar 17, 2008 7:42 pm

Would you say men should wear a suit and tie? I generally do for AP interviews but

ste :)
steve79