change career into clinical psychology from neuroscience

Your chance to ask for advice on any aspect of career development that doesn't fit in any of the above categories
Maria85

change career into clinical psychology from neuroscience

Post by Maria85 » Tue Feb 13, 2018 7:04 pm

Hi everyone. I have been reading the forum for a while, it looks there is some amazing support and knowledge shared on here, so I will give it a try posting a question.

I am 32 years old and quite recently I have been considering to start the route to get into clinical psychology. I already have a BSc in Psychology of communication (from an Italian university), one MSc in Cognitive Neuroscience (from another Italian University) and one PhD in Integrative Neuroscience (from a British university; I studied memory and brain in rats). I have been working for 1 year and a half as a postdoc biostatistician/bioinformatician (studying the genetics of a neurodegenerative disease, in a UK university). At the moment I have just come out of academia and I work as statistician for UK government (economical data). As you can read, I have been studying psychology/neuroscience most of my life, but not from a clinical point of view; for different reasons I was not considering myself emotionally “fit” enough to do anything clinic, although the interest for human psychology has always been there.