Therapist giving presents to patients

Issues related to pay, contracts, Agenda for Change, the NHS, the BPS, unions, etc.
munshi

Post by munshi » Wed Dec 25, 2013 11:48 am

Hi,

I was wondering what others felt about this situation that occured at my work. I currently work as a therapist in the private sector. At this time of year, a few clients have given the team / individual therapists Christmas presents such as cards, chocolates, biscuits etc. I was given (and accepted) a couple of small boxes of chocolate and have also in the past accepted gifts that clients have given as a thank you / goodbye at the end of therapy, as long as they were not of significant value.

Last week I noticed my colleague, a fellow therapist, was giving his clients Christmas presents and cards. I was quite taken aback by this and my initial reaction was that this is highly inappropriate. Even if the gifts themselves were not of significant monetary value (they were chocolate), knowing some of his clients they would be of great personal significance.

A lot of this therapist's clients are young, vulnerable females who have interpersonal and relational problems. The therapist himself is a man in his mid-40s.

Other more senior members of staff stated they would not give gifts to clients however nobody else questioned it. When I did, I was basically told it was up to him to do what he felt was appropriate. It's been playing on my mind since :-/

fabio

Re: Therapist giving presents to patients

Post by fabio » Wed Dec 25, 2013 12:40 pm

Merry Christmas everyone!

I think it is wrong to give or recieve presents from people in therapy.The exceptions are the one you already mentioned(gifts of small value and of symbolic nature and at the end of therapy).
Especially in the situation you describe,I believe that he has not taken into consideration the implication such a gesture has!

miriam
Site Admin

Post by miriam » Wed Dec 25, 2013 3:27 pm