maternity leave discrimination?

Issues related to pay, contracts, Agenda for Change, the NHS, the BPS, unions, etc.
nala

maternity leave discrimination?

Post by nala » Tue Jul 31, 2018 1:34 pm

Hi,

Just looking for some advice as i'm not really sure if this is an issue. I qualified almost 3 years ago. I applied for a band 8a job. I've been offered it, but at band 7, the reason being that i have been on some maternity leave since qualifying, so my total experience falls short of 2 years in total (I have 19 months).The person spec. requires 2 years post qualification experience. That's the only reason for not paying me at band 8, I meet everything else. I know there are rights in regards to maternity leave but I was wondering whether this would fall under it. Because where would you draw the line- if I had been on sick leave for a few months, could they still do the same? The job is only a few months cover for someone else's maternity leave so by the time I have 2 years experience in their eyes, the job would have ended.

thanks in advance
Being happy doesn't mean that everything is perfect. It means that you have decided to look beyond the imperfections.

Advertisement
Pearson Clinical Assessment publishes a wide range of assessments to support psychology professionals including the Gold Standard Wechsler range. To view our range please visit: pearsonclinical.co.uk/cpf
alexh

Re: maternity leave discrimination?

Post by alexh » Tue Jul 31, 2018 9:19 pm

Are there other benefits to taking it? I suppose having acted up will stand you well when applying for substantive posts.

Is it competitive? if, as must be tempting, you decline, will they easily fill the post anyway?

Personally I think it's a petty scam and you should decline to do band 8 work and responsibility for band 7 money. If they think you can do it they should pay you the set rate and not try to weasel out. They are willing to flex this criterion, it's not your problem.

maven
Site Admin