How to start a research project? Funding Advice please

Ask here about academic and research issues, like designing studies, recruiting participants, choosing statistics, submitting for publication, etc.
Maisiemoo

How to start a research project? Funding Advice please

Post by Maisiemoo » Mon Jul 07, 2014 12:46 am

Hi all
I have an idea about a research project I would like to conduct. I think I have a good enough idea about it to put together a research proposal. It is quite a specific project and would result in one article written at the end, I dont think there would be any smaller subprojects coming off it.
At the moment, I have a BSc and PgDip but no masters or phd.
If I wanted to go about undertaking this research how would I need to go about doing it? Would I apply for a masters or a phd? And if i did that would I also need to take study modules?
Also, if there are no researchers in my local universities interested in this area, is it common to distance work?
Does anyone ever do research thats not part of a masters or phd and how would you get funding then?
Thanks!

w013

Re: How to start a research project? Funding Advice please

Post by w013 » Tue Jul 08, 2014 8:57 pm

Hello. I don't think there is an easy way to do this without further training and supervision from a more senior researcher. One possible route would be to identify key researchers in your field and to find out what opportunities there are to do research degrees at their university - this could be as part of a taught Masters e.g.MSc or a research masters e.g.MRes or MPhil. You would normally need to take further courses at least in research methods and statistics / or qual analysis depending on your research questions.