Publishing for the very first time

Ask here about academic and research issues, like designing studies, recruiting participants, choosing statistics, submitting for publication, etc.
wendypan

Publishing for the very first time

Post by wendypan » Fri Feb 07, 2020 3:30 pm

Hello everybody :)

I am a psychology graduate, and am currently attempting to get a job as an AP. Aside from this, I have been thinking about carrying out my own research. My dissertation was based on a quantitative method (experiment), however, this time I wanted to dive into a qualitative method. I already have some ideias about exactly how I would do this, however, I have no ideia where to begin in terms of getting it published once I am finished :S

Upon doing some research, I found that the Clinical Psychology forum accepts to publish research from people at any points of their career, so I am assuming that this means I am welcomed to contact them given that I am no longer a Psychology Student nor am I a Psychology professional (for now :P). On another hand, I have no ideia how to gain ethical approval for this research, given that I am obviously no longer a student at my previous university :/ On their forum they state "Where approval has not been sought, the authors should account for the lack of ethical scrutiny and what steps were taken to ensure that the research was ethically conducted". So, am I right in thinking that it is okay if I am not able to obtain ethical approval? However, if this is the case, could this make my research less attractive for publication?

I would really appreciate if someone could shed light on these issues for me :)

miriam
Site Admin

Re: Publishing for the very first time

Post by miriam » Fri Feb 07, 2020 5:19 pm