Psychological distress versus mental illness

Anything that does not fit into the above categories, but is related to psychology, including discussion of public and media perceptions of psychology, satire related to psychology, etc.
Bela

Psychological distress versus mental illness

Post by Bela » Fri Sep 23, 2016 11:46 am

This blog popped up on my twitter today

http://blogs.bmj.com/bmj/2016/09/19/mar ... l-illness/

It made me seethe silently to myself so though I would post it here - part rant, part genuine request for people's ideas on how they challenge this discourse.

As a trainee, I've found these conversations really tricky to navigate. Clients can find their diagnosis so confusing - is it an 'illness' that I'll have for the rest of my life and if it is what is the point in being here? Or is it something that I can change/ no longer have in the future. Depending on which staff group your working with, the same can be true. Or, like this person, they might devalue psychology, believing that certain people are 'untreatable' and therefore talk about them in terms of their diagnosis rather than as an actual human being.

Depending on the situation I've tried sitting with that confusion and questioning these ideas to prompt formulation of the person and promote empathy, but sometimes it is just really difficult and can result in being swiftly dismissed by people who hold the opposing view. This is particularly hard when you are the only psychologist at a meeting full of nurses and a psychiatrist. :roll:

Like I say, part rant, part request for support, reflections and advice! :lol:

Advertisement
Pearson Clinical Assessment publishes a wide range of assessments to support psychology professionals including the Gold Standard Wechsler range. To view our range please visit: pearsonclinical.co.uk/cpf
lingua_franca

Re: Psychological distress versus mental illness

Post by lingua_franca » Fri Sep 23, 2016 4:15 pm