Friend with fear of wetting self

This section is for questions relating to therapy, assessment, formulation and other aspects of working with people in mental health services.

pantsbeforesocks

Friend with fear of wetting self

Post by pantsbeforesocks » Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:24 pm

Hi there,

I'm a ClinPsyD trainee. My good friend (who has given me permission to talk about him anonymously) has a fear of wetting himself. He finds that when he is at home he can go a normal length of time without needing a wee. However, as soon as he goes out he finds himself anxious about where the nearest toilet is and ends up going to the toilet really frequently. I've known for a while now that he has a bit of anxiety about needing the loo and being 'caught short', but I didn't know the extent of the problem until recently. It transpires that he avoids going out sometimes to avoid the hassle and if he knows in advance he will be leaving the house he drastically reduces his fluid intake. He is constantly mapping where the nearest toilets are and he says his brain never stops thinking about it and he's got to the point where it is 'running his life'. He went to the GP a while ago and they did a urine test and said everything was fine physically. He won't entertain having therapy, mainly because I'm working in the area so it's a bit complicated.

I've spoken to him a bit about maintenance cycles and the links between feeling anxious, sensations of needing a wee, thoughts and safety behaviours. We also spoke about hypervigilance to bladder sensations. He seemed aware of all of this, but he is finding it difficult to make any changes and break the cycle.

I've spent a couple of evenings trying to find some papers or books that might help, but so far haven't found anything relevant. Does anybody know of anything that I could send his way? He is particularly interested in what behavioural experiments he could try. Would really appreciate any input.

alexh