Looked After Children 0-4 age group

This section is for questions relating to therapy, assessment, formulation and other aspects of working with people in mental health services.

oldlady

Looked After Children 0-4 age group

Post by oldlady » Sun Feb 05, 2017 8:19 pm

Hi
I am a trainee clinical psychologist on placement in a Looked After Children Service. We are currently thinking about how we provide for children and babies aged 0-4. Although we are commissioned for children aged 0-18, we rarely get referrals for this age group (apart from when the children form a family group where there are older children) - it would be really helpful to understand how other similar services have addressed the needs of this age group of children.

Advertisement
Pearson Clinical Assessment publishes a wide range of assessments to support psychology professionals including the Gold Standard Wechsler range. To view our range please visit: pearsonclinical.co.uk/cpf
BlueCat
Site Admin

Re: Looked After Children 0-4 age group

Post by BlueCat » Sun Feb 05, 2017 9:32 pm

We proactively engage with the foster care s at the point of placement and provide a couple of sessions around secure base, and linking that child's specific experience of care to the adaptations to common sense parenting required. E.g. It isn't good that they "will go happily to anybody because.....", sensory stuff, developmental nerds etx.
There's no such thing as bad weather, just the wrong clothes. Billy Connolly.

Jac79

Re: Looked After Children 0-4 age group

Post by Jac79 » Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:27 am