Undergraduate Advice!

The guidance for posting on www.ClinPsy.org.uk and any comments on the forum, suggestions for improvements, etc. Also information about our e-magazine, Aspire, and how to contribute or download your copy.
WilliamsonE

Undergraduate Advice!

Post by WilliamsonE » Fri Nov 21, 2014 6:21 pm

Hi Guys,

I'm new to all this so thought I'd introduce myself and ask for a bit of advice as I'm sure many of you have a lot of experience behind you!

I'm Emily, in my last year of University.. Aiming to do a DClinPsy.. eventually!! Essentially after my degree I'd like to to apply for AP/PWP posts, gaining experience for a couple of years before applying for the Doctorate.. Although I'm well aware it won't happen as smoothly as this (wishful thinking for now!)

So... During my time at University I've been boosting my experience:
- Research Assistant Post
- Carer of Dementia
- The Psychology lead of merseyside helped me gain experience with two Assistant Psychologists: The first at a dementia centre, second, community healthcare centre
- Conducted cognitive behavioural therapy sessions at a mental health unit including service users with depression, personality disorders and schizophrenia
-Voluntary work at a mental health hospital
- Worked alongside occupational therapists conducting group sessions to relieve anxiety/suicide prevention/ coping strategies
- Headway volunteer interacting with those with a brain injury and their carers/families
- Work experience in a school assisting children with learning difficulties

I am also currently waiting for placement at a brain injury unit and an autistic school sitting in on regular sessions with the OT/Clinical Psyc.

I was just wondering if anyone could advise of any other relevant experience that would be beneficial whilst I finish my undergraduate as I'm extremely eager to develop my knowledge of clinical psychology before going out into 'the big wide world'!!

Thank you!!

Emily

Advertisement