Annual Leave: Trainee PWP

This section is for discussion relating to the Layard report, and subsequent schemes like Improving Access to Psychological Therapies where lower intensity inteventions are offered in primary care
louisehorne91

Annual Leave: Trainee PWP

Post by louisehorne91 » Mon Feb 09, 2015 12:03 pm

Hello,

I was wondering if someone would be able to help me out - I'm due to start a trainee pwp post at the end of Feb (really excited!) but I was just wondering how the annual leave works whilst training?

Can you only take annual leave during half terms? I am entitled to 25 days leave and hoping to book a holiday in June but with the course starting in April I'm unsure whether this would be allowed. I was just hoping to find others experiences.

Thanks!

Lola24

Re: Annual Leave: Trainee PWP

Post by Lola24 » Mon Feb 09, 2015 2:13 pm

Hi Louise

Congrats on getting a trainee post! :D

When I was a trainee PWP, annual leave worked the same as in any role. You can take it anytime in your working days but you weren't allowed to miss any teaching for annual leave (one day a week). We didn't have half term as such as the university teaching is slightly different in terms of timetable. I think the best plan would be to check which weeks you wouldn't be at uni with the course before booking anything. I know we had exams in June on ours.

Lola

louisehorne91

Post by louisehorne91 » Mon Feb 09, 2015 3:21 pm

Hi Lola,

Thanks for the reply! I was going to wait until I started with the service anyway before I booked anything but I wasn't 100% sure how they worked the annual leave, as obviously I know there is a certain amount of university you have to attend.

Thanks again :)

PsychBrainiac

Post by PsychBrainiac » Tue Feb 10, 2015 10:15 pm

louisehorne91 wrote:Hi Lola,