Social work as a route into HI work?

This section is for discussion relating to the Layard report, and subsequent schemes like Improving Access to Psychological Therapies where lower intensity inteventions are offered in primary care
ThymeTeasel

Social work as a route into HI work?

Post by ThymeTeasel » Mon Aug 21, 2017 1:25 pm

Hi all, have lurked for a while but this is my first time posting. My situation is basically this - I dropped out of medical school in my penultimate year and now I'm hoping to start a career in high intensity therapy. Looking back it might have been smarter to just finish the degree and then change careers, however I was really unhappy in the course and when I found out I was expecting my son it just seemed like more trouble than it was worth to complete it. I left with a degree in Medical Science (without honours, though I also have a 2.1 honours degree in English with Hisory) and am currently a stay at home parent. Having a soon to be school age child and a partner with an established career I have very little flexibility when it comes to location, so moving here and there for work or university courses just isn't possible. I have, however, seen a few graduate entry to social work programs, which are on the job training with a bursary and salary. These seem to me like a good route into IAPT work. Whilst social work does interest me for it's own sake, the working conditions seem utterly dire and so I'd only really be doing this to gain a "core profession" with a view to moving into IAPT work as soon as possible afterwards. My questions, basically, are has anyone else done this? Is it a stupid idea? And are there any better/ more logical routes? Thanks :)

jason712

Re: Social work as a route into HI work?

Post by jason712 » Mon Aug 21, 2017 9:01 pm

I'm no expert on this in particular however to my knowledge a social work qualification does fulfill the entry requirements to get into the training.

Shmit