The Struggle in IAPT

This section is for discussion relating to the Layard report, and subsequent schemes like Improving Access to Psychological Therapies where lower intensity inteventions are offered in primary care
Dragonfly123

The Struggle in IAPT

Post by Dragonfly123 » Sun Apr 08, 2018 11:26 am

I've been doing PWP work for the past 3 years now and I feel like I am coming towards the end now. I am not entirely sure how others manage to stay in this role longer than few years.

I would like to find out what other PWP's gone onto doing and what other career options available for struggling PWPs other than becoming a senior.

I feel overworked, stressed, not respected and unprotected. :cry: are there any other PWP's who feel this way?

Advertisement
Pearson Clinical Assessment publishes a wide range of assessments to support psychology professionals including the Gold Standard Wechsler range. To view our range please visit: pearsonclinical.co.uk/cpf
Victoriomantic

Re: The Struggle in IAPT

Post by Victoriomantic » Sun Apr 08, 2018 3:17 pm

Dragonfly123 wrote:I feel overworked, stressed, not respected and unprotected. :cry: are there any other PWP's who feel this way?
You are absolutely not alone. I have been a PWP for 2 years and also have been feeling this way recently. I am lucky that I have an incredible line manager, but the clinical decisions and management above her are getting more and more frustrating as time goes on.