Applying for Trainee PWP positions in 2019, do I stand a chance with my experience?

This section is for discussion relating to the Layard report, and subsequent schemes like Improving Access to Psychological Therapies where lower intensity inteventions are offered in primary care
Coral1234

Applying for Trainee PWP positions in 2019, do I stand a chance with my experience?

Post by Coral1234 » Sun Dec 30, 2018 4:15 pm

Hi everyone,

Just looking for a bit of advice. I want to apply for the trainee PWP course next year but not sure if I stand a chance of getting in, or even getting an interview!

A bit of background; I have a 2:1 in Psychology. I currently work as a Medical Receptionist in an urgent care centre, and have been in this role for 2 years, it is “just” an admin role but I do have to deal with individuals who may be experiencing mental ill health and offer them advice/signpost them. Being in a frontline role in the NHS means I have gained an understanding of how societal issues such as homelessness and financial issues impact health and mental health.

Around 2 years ago I experienced depression myself and was referred to my local IAPT. I received counselling which ended recently - so I am familiar with the service. I want to talk about my own experience in my supporting statement as I feel it allows me to relate to people who may be suffering similar in a deeper way.. Will this hold me back? I believe Sheffield uni’s entry requirements state that personal experience is beneficial. But I am worried that it will be off putting - despite having recovered.

I was offered the opportunity to be a volunteer peer mentor at iapt at the end of my counselling. I start my training next week.. I had my ‘interview’ recently and explained that my goal is to become a PWP, I was told I could access some shadowing so I hope this will be beneficial.