Increase hours or diversify

Your chance to ask for advice on any aspect of career development that doesn't fit in any of the above categories
Randomswirls
Team Member

Increase hours or diversify

Post by Randomswirls » Sat Sep 14, 2013 6:38 pm

Ill try to keep this concise!!

I completed my undergraduate degree in 2006 and got a low 2:1. I subsequently moved abroad for 18 months and on my return ended up working in admin. I've always wanted to work in Psychology and so started my Masters in Psychology with the OU which I completed earlier this year.

Having always struggled with my mental health I hit rock bottom and ended up in hospital several times over the last few years. During this time I stopped working (though did some voluntary work)and tried to concentrate on coping with things as well as I could and have not had an admission in close to two years now although I am still a service user in part this is due to being under the Early Intervention Service.

During this time I did a peer support course funded by my local mental health trust and whilst waiting for jobs to come available I started working with my local recovery college running courses as a peer trainer on a variety of topics. I run the courses with various professionals including psychologists and I continue to do this sporadically.

In February I started working at my local CMHT as a peer support worker (2 days a week) working individually with clients for up to 12 weeks and its very client lead due to the way its set up i will work with clients who are being treated in the community, under the crisis team or who are inpatient. i am however based within one MDT but don't have much contact with psychologists currently.