Ready to apply?

Your chance to ask for advice on any aspect of career development that doesn't fit in any of the above categories
jason712

Ready to apply?

Post by jason712 » Wed Jun 28, 2017 4:41 pm

Hi all, I may have posted this in the wrong section so please move it to the appropriate one if that is the case.

I was wondering how long until people here felt ready to apply to the Clinpsy doctorate. I graduated in Psychology with Criminology back in 2015 and this is my first time contemplating whether or not I should apply this year. How did you guys know when you were ready? How much experience did you have? How many years since graduation?

I feel like I have a range of different experiences but I could always stand to learn more, but I feel like in comparison to previous years I could actually stand a chance of getting in. Although easier said than done. I suppose I'd also like to get an idea if other people here think I could do well with gaining more experience or taking a crack at it.

My experiences are as follows:

Assistant Psychologist- Kids company - 2013 - 2014
Part of my placement year, worked alongside the clinical psychologist to manage the database, booking appointments, shadowing assessments - as well as doing a few of my own.

Key Worker 2014 - 2015
Employed full-time after my placement, worked as a key worker for children 4 - 13. Conducting home visits, assessments to cater a careplan according to their needs.

Support worker - Burgess Autistic Trust - 2015 - 2016
After Kidsco closed, I found a job as a support worker for adults with ASC.

HCA 2016 - South London and Maudsley - 2017
Worked as a HCA on the women's PICU ward.

Therapeutic care worker - Royal Free - 2016 - Current
Worked in a CAMHS Eating disorder ward

Substance Misuse worker - YoungAddaction- 2017 - Present