HCPC registration vs Experience

Your chance to ask for advice on any aspect of career development that doesn't fit in any of the above categories
sarapsi

HCPC registration vs Experience

Post by sarapsi » Mon Nov 12, 2018 4:01 pm

Hello everybody,

I've finished my Master's Degree in Clinical Psychology this year (EU country, Portugal). I don't belong to a regulatory body in Portugal.

I'm working as a Support Worker in a school (children with SEND), here in the UK. Before that, I completed the internship required to finish my Master's, back in Portugal (Primary Healthcare, with children and adults, working as an Intern Clinical Psychologist). I was also a volunteer with minorities for almost one year, and I have some experience in research.

I'm enjoying the work as a Support Worker, but I want to do anything more psychology related. I've seen a few vacancies that don't require being a member of HCPC, like Assistant Psychology, Research Assistant or Well being practitioner.

I want to ask for some advice, because I want to get more experience to:
a) Apply to HCPC via international route; and/or
b) Apply to a Doctoral Program

I've contacted HCPC and they said it's not mandatory belonging to a regulatory body for them to accept and consider my application (via International Route). However, I've read that it's not that easy to be accepted. I don't mind if they ask me to go for apprenticeships/internships before accepting me, and/or having an exam, I just didn't want to have an application rejected. It's a lot of money...

Also, I'm worried about the Brexit thing, because maybe their standards will change after March 2019.

That being said (and it was a lot, I'm sorry!), what do you advice me to do? Apply to HCPC before March? Trying to have more experience and maybe apply to HCPC later/Doctoral Program?

Thank you so much ^_^

miriam
Site Admin

Re: HCPC registration vs Experience

Post by miriam » Thu Nov 15, 2018 1:42 am