Anybody else feeling hopeless about finding a relevant job?

Your chance to ask for advice on any aspect of career development that doesn't fit in any of the above categories
Kw165

Anybody else feeling hopeless about finding a relevant job?

Post by Kw165 » Wed Mar 06, 2019 9:33 pm

I don't think many people I know can relate to what it's like to face rejection and uncertainty about future career prospects to the extent psychology grads can.. I'm feeling particularly hopeless about it at the moment and I'd love to hear from anybody feeling the same way?

I graduated in 2016, I'm doing my masters in psychotherapy, I feel like I work pretty hard. I have 3 different voluntary roles on top of studying and doing an admin job part time. I also work as a healthcare assistant on bank in the NHS trust I work at

I just want a permanent role that allows me to use some of the skills from my degree/post grad training. I'd be very happy with a support worker role. I apply for things all the time and never get short listed
Recently, I finally got an interview, but didn't get the job.

I feel like I'm never going to get anywhere. I am working really hard and it feels like it's all for nothing

Advertisement
Pearson Clinical Assessment publishes a wide range of assessments to support psychology professionals including the Gold Standard Wechsler range. To view our range please visit: pearsonclinical.co.uk/cpf
Ekorn

Re: Anybody else feeling hopeless about finding a relevant job?

Post by Ekorn » Thu Mar 07, 2019 11:48 am

I can relate to this. I was in quite a dark place following my MSc and didn’t go to my graduation as I felt like a failure. It was a struggle to get my first permanent post. I ended up working as temp support worker at a special education needs college. I really enjoyed it although I could hardly live off the money. I kept on applying for everything, but hardly got any interviews.