Reference concern

Discuss applications to the clearing house (and to courses that are not in the clearing house system), screening assessments, interviews, reserve lists, places, etc. here
LeanneH

Reference concern

Post by LeanneH » Mon Dec 07, 2015 5:07 pm

Hi everyone,

I wondered if anyone could shred some light on a query I have as I'm new to the application process this year!

I had contacted my experience and academic referees a few months ago and both agreed however after being out of the country for a few weeks I have come home to realise that my academic reference has still not been started! I have emailed her but have yet to have a reply and I'm going to contact the university tomorrow but....

Is the deadline for references the 10th of this month? I'm a little confused as I'm sure I've read this but also seen that references may be submitted in Jan? How concerned should I be that it's not been submitted yet?

Also, if she cannot do my reference in time who else could I put? I don't think anyone else from university will remember me well enough to provide a substantial reference. I worked in research for 6 months with a clin psych - could they provide an academic reference?

Geishawife
Team Member

Re: Reference concern

Post by Geishawife » Mon Dec 07, 2015 6:00 pm

You are panicking way ahead of time here! References do not have to be in until January, and the Clearing House will contact you if references aren't received and give you time to chase them up before the forms are sent out to course centres. Slow down and take a deep breath - you still have plenty of time!!

LeanneH

Post by LeanneH » Mon Dec 07, 2015 6:04 pm

Ah thank you so much for clearing that up for me!

Jet lag + hastily scrambling around the clearing house website was not much fun!

miriam
Site Admin

Post by miriam » Mon Dec 07, 2015 6:48 pm