Interview-Research proposal

Discuss applications to the clearing house (and to courses that are not in the clearing house system), screening assessments, interviews, reserve lists, places, etc. here
reishi

Interview-Research proposal

Post by reishi » Wed Feb 01, 2017 6:55 pm

Hello all,
I find myself fortunate enough to shortlisted for an interview (I'm a self-funding student. I presume they decided to deal with us first. No returns from other courses). I was over the moon till I got an email today requesting me to send them a research proposal of 500 words which is due in 17 days, which surprised me extremely. Apparently, it will be used in the selection process. (No, I haven't accidentally applied for a PhD, it's DClinPsy alright). I am gonna write them and ask for an extension, I cannot possibly write a research proposal in 17 days, I do not have a subject on my mind! There wasn't any info on writing an original research proposal for the interview neither on their website nor on CH. I've been a frequent on this forum for a while now and never ever stumbled upon something like this. Former interviewees, have you done such a thing? Please guide me!
Last edited by BlueCat on Thu Apr 26, 2018 8:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Request for anonymisation
"Ever since psychoanalysis came up, everybody's ill more or less."

Advertisement
Pearson Clinical Assessment publishes a wide range of assessments to support psychology professionals including the Gold Standard Wechsler range. To view our range please visit: pearsonclinical.co.uk/cpf
lakeland

Re: Interview-Research proposal

Post by lakeland » Wed Feb 01, 2017 7:51 pm

I didn't have to do this, but given that my first assignment I had to submit 4 months into my first year of training was a research proposal of 5000 words, I'd say this is a completely fair request. You're right that it's not a PhD, but it is a doctorate with a huge research component, so they want people who have research skills already.