Applying for clinical while doing HI

Discuss applications to the clearing house (and to courses that are not in the clearing house system), screening assessments, interviews, reserve lists, places, etc. here
clinpsymember

Applying for clinical while doing HI

Post by clinpsymember » Thu May 18, 2017 11:07 pm

Hi all,

I am wondering whether anyone has any advice on or previous experience of applying for clinical whilst doing the one-year high intensity IAPT training. I have applied to do high intensity after the summer, but my main goal is to get on clinical training. Due to being a EU student, I am worried about how many more chances I'll get to apply once Brexit happens. I am therefore keen to maximise my chances for next year, but also want to do something useful and enjoyable while waiting. I have heard rumours that some unis may frown upon applying for one NHS funded course whilst doing another - does anyone know anything more about this? I am also wondering how much this adds to my experience in the eyes of selectors, as I am already working in IAPT and wonder if I need more varied experience. Any previous experiences or comments would be greatly appreciated!

Advertisement
Pearson Clinical Assessment publishes a wide range of assessments to support psychology professionals including the Gold Standard Wechsler range. To view our range please visit: pearsonclinical.co.uk/cpf
Tlf

Re: Applying for clinical while doing HI

Post by Tlf » Mon Jun 05, 2017 1:14 pm

Hiya,