Lack of research!

Discuss applications to the clearing house (and to courses that are not in the clearing house system), screening assessments, interviews, reserve lists, places, etc. here
LilHippo

Lack of research!

Post by LilHippo » Mon Sep 25, 2017 11:09 pm

Hi

I am applying to the doctorate program for the first time this year. I've been graduated for a year and have spent the time working as a support worker for a charity in Edinburgh. I have a lot of practical experience through paid and voluntary roles but have done zero research since my undergrad dissertation. Will this be a problem? I did well in my dissertation (got a first) but I feel like this is nothing compared to most people! If nothing else there is a personal statement in the application about publications of which I have none!

I know I'm very unlikely to get in this round of applications anyway but any one else's thoughts on this would be really useful! Thanks :)

Advertisement
Pearson Clinical Assessment publishes a wide range of assessments to support psychology professionals including the Gold Standard Wechsler range. To view our range please visit: pearsonclinical.co.uk/cpf
Geishawife
Team Member

Re: Lack of research!

Post by Geishawife » Fri Sep 29, 2017 1:05 pm

I very much doubt you will be the only applicant for whom their only research experience is their undergrad project! I wouldn't worry too much about what other applicants do or don't have - instead, focus on making your own application the best it can be. That means demonstrating what you have and what you have learnt and being reflective. If you got a 1st for your project, you must have some research skills, to say the least! Show selectors that.