Experience/Application Advice

Discuss applications to the clearing house (and to courses that are not in the clearing house system), screening assessments, interviews, reserve lists, places, etc. here
Dan89

Experience/Application Advice

Post by Dan89 » Tue Feb 12, 2019 5:50 pm

Hi all,

I have been thinking about applying for a clinical psychology doctorate for a while now. But I have been reading all the various different experices which people had prior to gaining acceptance onto a program along with publication/research experience. I’m quite daunted by it all, to be frank.

I graduated with a first class honours in psychology and then studied behavior analysis which I also graduated from with a first class honours. I am board certified and I have been working in the area of autism for 5 years now. I have been involved in some research projects which I have presented on via poster sessions or talks, and I hope to publish one of the projects soon. During my undergrad and at the beginning of my post grad I working with individuals with depression for a year and then people who have OCD for 6 months.

I just don’t know if a) I would have the experience that these programs are looking for or speak to my experience in a way that would prove readiness and b) if I would have the research skill set that many seem to have when applying for a course. I was thinking of doing the clinical psychology foundations masters degre in Southampton uni. This would be as means to get myself more varied experience and make my application more desirable.

Any feedback would be much appreciated.

Thank you!

Advertisement
Pearson Clinical Assessment publishes a wide range of assessments to support psychology professionals including the Gold Standard Wechsler range. To view our range please visit: pearsonclinical.co.uk/cpf
Northernlad

Re: Experience/Application Advice

Post by Northernlad » Tue Feb 12, 2019 10:25 pm