PhD thoughts

The place to ask about degree courses, conversion courses, masters, PhD or other qualifications. Discuss specific courses, their pros and cons, the content, the application process, different institutions, how to fund them, etc. Includes advice if you have a 2:2 and questions on transcripts
thedreadpersephone

PhD thoughts

Post by thedreadpersephone » Sat Feb 22, 2020 7:54 pm

Hi, I've been away from the psychology world for a few years but always found this forum helpful before. I've very recently had thoughts of pursuing a PhD in psychology with the vague aim of some kind of academic career. Has anyone out there done a PhD or in the process of and wants to share their experiences?

My background is that I graduated from the MSc conversion course at Glasgow University back in 2009 :shock: I then spent several years volunteering and looking for jobs with the aim of eventually applying for the doctorate in clinical psychology. At the height of this I managed to get an AP interview, I also interviewed for the CAAP, but was unsuccessful in both. I then had a baby and spent much longer than planned as a stay at home parent. My child is now almost 4 and I'm finally finding time to consider my future. I feel I've lost the urge to go for the doctorate and perhaps more importantly, speaking to clinical psychologists I know about the day to day work, I'm not finding the job personally appealing either. I'm also tied to a particular area and don't drive which I know will be an issue. My local university does research into psycholinguistics which would be a good fit for me as my first degree was in English language. I had the research part of my MSc dissertation published in a journal so I'm fairly optimistic about my writing up skills but less so in my very rusty statistics.

Spatch

Re: PhD thoughts

Post by Spatch » Sun Feb 23, 2020 2:55 pm