Psychological Therapy in Primary Care MSC

Discuss any aspect of applying for posts or courses (apart from the clinical psychology doctorate which has its own forum section), CVs, application forms, etc
labrador

Post by labrador » Mon Jul 11, 2016 7:01 pm

Hi everyone,

I've been a long time lurker on this forum but this is the first time I can recall posting anything. I graduated in Psychology last June with First Class Honours and since then i've been working as a mental health support worker within a large organisation. I've been applying for AP jobs with no real successs (one interview) and i'm looking at my options for the near future.

I applied for this: https://www.stir.ac.uk/postgraduate/pro ... mary-care/ course last year and despite having what I thought was a really strong application, I didn't even make the interview stage.

My main concern centres around this question on the NHS portion of the application form;

"What do you think are the most relevant psychological theories to the delivery of CBT interventions and what are the professional and ethical issues that we must consider in delivering these services?" (No more than 300 words).

Can anyone help? Applications for this year aren't open yet so i'm not even sure that this question will be included but having had people look over other portions of last years I think that this is where I went wrong. I'd be slightly embarrassed to post my answer here incase I got it completely wrong but i'd be more than happy to send it to someone via PM if they were able to help.

Over and above this i'm just really looking for general advice. Is there anything in particular I would be a fool to leave out? What should I emphasise most strongly? If there is anyone with experience of the admissions process who would be willing to give me some pointers i'd be eternally grateful.

Thank you in advance for any responses, applications open again shortly and i'm desperate for a place.

Labrador

jessicaaaa