Facilitator intervention jobs

Discuss any aspect of applying for posts or courses (apart from the clinical psychology doctorate which has its own forum section), CVs, application forms, etc
pb42

Facilitator intervention jobs

Post by pb42 » Sat Jan 28, 2017 5:36 pm

I have read some interesting stuff regarding the application and interview process for a facilitator job in prison. It is a role I am really interested in having taught in a prison for about a year. I would really like some advice about whether I am wasting my time applying (I did receive an interview but backed out due to distance to job from home) for this type of job as when i read some of the qualifications people have or busy studying for I feel i have no chance! I have a degree but not in subjects useful to job (Politics and History) and a PGCE as taught Functional Skills (maths and Englsih). I volunteered in the Probation Service but that was many years ago (17!). My last job was teaching in a youth offending prison. I just feel everyone seems to be doing MSc or have Psychology degrees! Is this a job where your training would fully prepare you for the role? Is there an assumption at interview you are knowlegeable about interventions/jargon and what you will actually be delivering? Are interventions open for all offenders or mainly for those with substance/alchohol missue probelms? The fact I already secured a interview maybe gave me a little bit of hope but I do not want to reapply and be asked questions which will have me sitting there with a blank look on my face!

Also, for anyone already in this role a brief summary of a day/week in the life of a facilitator would be really useful.

Thank in advance.

Advertisement
Pearson Clinical Assessment publishes a wide range of assessments to support psychology professionals including the Gold Standard Wechsler range. To view our range please visit: pearsonclinical.co.uk/cpf
lingua_franca

Re: Facilitator intervention jobs