Rethink Bank Mental Health Recovery Worker

Discuss what to expect in job and course interviews, what topics might be covered, how to manage anxiety, and how to get the desired result!
jyddx

Rethink Bank Mental Health Recovery Worker

Post by jyddx » Mon Feb 09, 2015 5:01 pm

Hi there! :)

I have trawled through the search for this, but nothing is quite what I'm after so I thought I might as well ask.

I've just got an interview for a bank mental health recovery post with Rethink. I was wondering if anybody else has had an interview for this/similar with Rethink and could advise me on what to expect? The interview email literally just lists the date and time, and says it's a structured interview, so there's nothing for me to go on there.

For background, I'm a second year undergrad Psychology student. I do work with an eating disorders charity running peer support meetings for students with eating disorders and am about to begin volunteering at a suicide respite centre. So I wouldn't say I have any particularly official looking mental health experience thus far, and so I don't really have any past mental health job interviews to draw on!

If anyone has any pointers as to what to expect that would be fab :)

AnonymousMouse

Re: Rethink Bank Mental Health Recovery Worker

Post by AnonymousMouse » Mon Feb 09, 2015 6:30 pm

Hi!

I actually did this job a few years ago! From what I can remember, the interview was very informal. I met with two members of staff, who took turns to ask me set questions which were mostly drawing on my own experience - e.g. 'Think of a time when...' 'What would you do if...' 'Give an example of when...' Type questions. For the interview, I would definitely say think about managing risk, times you've been involved with service users therapeutically, times you've had to manage difficult situations/relationships and issues of confidentiality.