Psychotherapy course interview

Discuss what to expect in job and course interviews, what topics might be covered, how to manage anxiety, and how to get the desired result!
luckyblackcat

Psychotherapy course interview

Post by luckyblackcat » Mon Mar 02, 2015 12:54 am

Hi everyone. I'm new to this forum and really pleased to have discovered it. I have an interview coming up for clinical training in psychotherapy and would be very grateful for any advice anyone can give me - it's a UKCP-accredited course that would eventually lead to an advanced diploma and MA.

This is a second career/career change for me as I've been working in an unrelated field. I have some introductory training in counselling, I'm a trained volunteer for a charity relating to mental health and I'm also in therapy with a practitioner in the modality I wish to train in, so I'm not a complete beginner, but I am mostly a beginner...

It's an individual interview with a senior tutor. I'm really pleased to have got this far as this course is by far my first choice. The application was very in-depth and I'm expecting to be asked some very personal questions, which is fine, but there are a few things I'm wondering about and would appreciate advice on.

Firstly, I'm a bit stuck on what to wear! Super-smart business style feels wrong for this place and isn't something I could pull off anyway. I would feel most comfortable in smart dark denim or black jeans with a nice wrap dress, but are jeans a no-no?