Research knowledge for interview

Discuss what to expect in job and course interviews, what topics might be covered, how to manage anxiety, and how to get the desired result!
Anna39

Research knowledge for interview

Post by Anna39 » Sun Jan 17, 2016 12:25 pm

Hi,

It's my first time applying for the doctorate. I have not been invited for interview but I thought it couldn't hurt to do some preparation even if I am not successful this year. My knowledge of research/statistics is lacking and I foolishly didn't download my lecture slides before I graduated. I have two books on statistics, but I am unsure whether they are enough: SPSS for Psychologists by Brace, Kemp and Snelgar, and Doing Statistics with SPSS by Kerr, Hall and Kozub. If not, I want something which will cover what I need, but still be relatively straightforward. If anyone has any advice, I would really appreciate it.

BlueCat
Site Admin

Re: Research knowledge for interview

Post by BlueCat » Sun Jan 17, 2016 2:54 pm

I don't know those specific books, but they sound like they are focussed on stats, rather than research methods? You basically need a good undergraduate knowledge of research methods and statistics. Any comprehensive undergrad textbook should do the job.
There's no such thing as bad weather, just the wrong clothes. Billy Connolly.

sarahg

Post by sarahg » Mon Jan 18, 2016 11:02 am

Statistics and research methods is quite hard to learn and retain through just reading a book. You need to be able to apply your knowledge to particular scenarios.

If I were in your position I would find some of the course RM/Stats exams and use those to practise my knowledge.

Good luck :D

alexh

Post by alexh » Mon Jan 18, 2016 7:57 pm