Will my PhD benefit my journey to DClinPsy?

The place to ask about degree courses, conversion courses, masters, PhD or other qualifications. Discuss specific courses, their pros and cons, the content, the application process, different institutions, how to fund them, etc. Includes advice if you have a 2:2 and questions on transcripts
CR2000

Will my PhD benefit my journey to DClinPsy?

Post by CR2000 »

Hi all - I have a BSc and MSc in Psychology and I was lucky enough to be offered a PhD where I will be investigating mental load in different patients using EEG. It's a very clinical-based PhD which I know will definitely benefit me for the DClinPsy, however, it is technically a PhD in computing science as that is the department offering the PhD (it will involve some sort of machine learning/coding features which I will be taught when I begin).

Despite this, it will primarily be psychology based (with computing aspects). Does the fact that it is a PhD in computing science detract from the fact I will still be investigating psychology? Would this hinder my DClinPsy application in future, despite it being Psychology-based and clinically orientated?

Or does it not necessarily matter which department the PhD is being completed under, but rather the research completed within it?

Any help with this would be greatly appreciated. I am very much looking forward to my PhD as I love research in psychology, but want to make sure the title won't hold me back.
alexh

Re: Will my PhD benefit my journey to DClinPsy?

Post by alexh »

The title won't hold you back, and, assuming you complete it, it is perfect evidence of 'ability to study at doctoral level' which is a key point for selectors. I certainly meet a number of trainees who have completed PhDs prior.